CoSA Faculty Nominated for Awards

Posted by: nancym 2 years ago

CoSA Faculty Nominated for Awards

CoSA is pleased to announce that two of its faculty were nominated for 2016 Craig Noel Awards. The San Diego Theatre Critics Circle presents Craig Noel Awards annually to honor professional theatre in San Diego. Read more about SDTCC below and here

Kim Strassburger, a long-time teacher in the Musical Theatre & Drama conservatory, received multiple nominations. She was nominated for Outstanding Featured Performance in a Play, Female for her role in "The Normal Heart" at ion theatre, and also for Outstanding Direction of a Musical for "Sunday in the Park with George," produced by ion theatre at the San Diego Museum of Art. 

David McBean, Vocal Teacher in Musical Theatre & Drama, was nominated in the Outstanding Featured Performance in a Musical, Male category for his performance in "Ruthless! The Musical" at Moxie Theatre.

(The paragraph below is taken from the SDTCC website)

What is the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle?

Founded in 1983 and re-established in 2002, the San Diego Theatre Critics Circle is an independent, nonprofit organization of print and online theater critics dedicated to open and honest dialogue about theater in San Diego County and to honoring artistic excellence.  The members of our organization are professional critics writing for daily newspapers, magazines, entertainment trade publications and Web sites in San Diego County.  The organization’s major event is an awards program held each February, honoring the previous year’s finest in theater production, direction, acting, playwriting, scoring and technical achievements. The event is presented free of charge to the theatrical community thanks to the gracious support of private underwriters.  In 2002, the awards were renamed in honor of Craig Noel, longtime artistic director at San Diego’s Old Globe Theatre and the founding father of San Diego’s theater community, who passed away in 2010.The Craig Noel Awards program is underwritten by San Diego arts philanthropists, including Donald & Darlene Shiley, Danah H. Fayman, Audrey Geisel, The Harvey & Sheryl White Foundation, Osborn & Dea Hurston, Jay & Julie Sarno, Yolanda Braunagel, Ralph Johnson and Ted & Trina Kaplan.